Is anyone having as much difficulty as me finding a job?

I finished my degree in August and haven’t been able to find a job, is this normal?

I’ve had a number of interviews but no offers.

Anything i can be doing differently?

1 Like

Hey!

It is definitely normal to struggle finding a job out of uni! In fact, the average person needs to apply to anywhere from 21 to 80 openings in order to get even a single job offer, while roughly one-third of all fresh grads still haven’t landed a job four months after finishing university.

My advice will depend based on your specific situation so happy to provide further details if you are comfortable with sharing a bit more about your degree/what you have been applying for/how you have been conducting your job search, but my general top 5 tips would be:

1. Quality over Quantity: Tailor your applications to specific roles and companies, showcasing your unique skills and genuine interest. Aim for 10 thoughtful applications over 20 generic ones.

2. Network Power: Leverage your personal network! Reach out to friends, family, and acquaintances, asking for introductions or potential leads. Don’t be afraid to connect on LinkedIn and ask for advice or connections.

3. Learn from Rejection: If you get rejected, follow up and politely ask for feedback. This can be invaluable in understanding what companies are looking for and how to improve your candidacy.

4. Expand Your Search: Don’t limit yourself to specific sectors. Look for roles based on your qualifications across different industries. You might find unexpected matches and significantly widen your options. Use resources like Prosple Australia to easily search based on qualifications and sectors.

5. Focus on Process: Shift your mindset from outcome-driven (landing a job) to process-driven (actively applying, networking, etc.). Set achievable goals and focus on taking consistent action each week, regardless of interview results.